Prof. Dr. Matthias Thommes

> 147 publications; *h*-index 53, > 32500 Citations (Google Scholar)

Full Professor (W3), Head, Institute of Separation Science and Technology (TVT) Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU) Egerlandstrasse 3, 91058 Erlangen Tel.: +49 9131 85-27440 Email: matthias.thommes@fau.de

PROFESSIONAL CAREER

Since 07/2018 Full Professor, Head of Institute for Separation Science and Technology, FAU

Since 10/2021: Head, Department of Chemical and Bioengineering (CBI), FAU

2001-2018 Director, Applied Science at Quantachrome Corporation, FL, USA 1998-2001 Head, Application Department, Quantachrome GmbH, Odelzhausen, Germany 1996-1998 ESA Fellow and Postdoctoral Research Associate, Institute for Physical Science and Technology (IPST), University of Maryland at College Park, USA Project Scientist for the microgravity experiment "Critical Adsorption", EURECA I 1992-1996 Mission and Research Associate at the Iwan-N.-Stranski Institute of Physical and Theoretical Chemistry, Technical University, Berlin 1993 Dr.rer.nat. (Ph.D.), Technical University Berlin, Germany; (Supervisor: Prof. Dr. G.H. Findenegg) 1983-1989 Diploma in Chemistry (M.S.), Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Germany

SELECTED PROFESSIONAL ACTIVITIES, AWARDS AND HONOURS

- Inducted as a Fellow of the International Adsorption Society (IAS), (March 20, 2021)
- Visiting Professor, University of Edinburgh, U.K (since 2012)
- Visiting Professor, Lorraine University, Epinal/Nancy, France (since 2017)
- Chair/Vice-Chair AIChE, Separations Division Area 2e (2013–2017)
- Chairman of the IUPAC (International Union for Pure and Applied Chemistry) Task Group "Physisorption of Gases, with Special Reference to the Evaluation of Surface Area and Pore Size" (10
- Principal Scientific Advisor to the FACT Lab at NIST (National Institute of Standards), Gaithersburgh, MD, USA
- Elected Member of the Council of the International Zeolite Association (IZA, since 2015)
- Board of Directors of International Adsorption Society (IAS) (from 2019-2026)
- Convener of working groups for ISO (International Standard Organization; since 2007, reelected in 2020)
- Member, IUPAC Task Group 'Liquid intrusion and alternative methods for the characterization of macroporous solids (2006 -2010)
- Chair/Co-Chair of many important conferences/symposia in the field of adsorption and characterization (e.g. CPM symposia series)
- Member of Editorial Board of various scientific journals (e.g. Adsorption, Advanced Porous Materials)
- Microgravity Research Award from European Space Agency (ESA) in 1996

